Press Releases

Democratic Party of Oregon Elects New Chair, Frank Dixon

Mar 11, 2013


Contact: Andrew Gorry / press [at] dpo [dot] org / (503) 239-8634

SALEM, Oregon (March 11, 2013) – 

Frank Dixon was elected by acclamation as the new Chair of the Democratic Party of Oregon on Sunday after serving three terms as First Vice-Chair.

"We're not going to rest until Senator Jeff Merkley, the Governor, our Democratic congressional delegation, and majorities in the State House and Senate are reelected on November 4th, 2014," said Chair Frank Dixon. "I'm counting on our campaign teams and activists from all thirty-six counties to share the Democratic story–our accomplishments and vision to continue to build a better Oregon. We won't rest because standing at our borders are the likes of Karl Rove and the Koch Brothers, ready to spend whatever it takes to win for the GOP."

Frank Dixon has been a member of the Democratic National Committee and the DNC LGBT Caucus since 2007, and was elected to serve on the national Association of State Democratic Parties (ASDC) Executive Committee in 2013.

Frank is an Oregon attorney who practiced consumer law for fifteen years in state and federal courts. Before that, Frank entered the Army as an Infantry Unit Commander in 1973. He retired in the Army Reserves after serving with the 104th Division as a commander of the Leadership Academy (drill sergeant school) and as the Division’s internal auditor. Frank was one of the founders of Veterans for Human Rights, an early LGBT war veterans group. He served as a Director of Basic Rights Oregon from 2002 to 2012.

Four other officers elected Sunday: Karen Packer from Washington County as First Vice-Chair, Wayne Kinney from Deschutes County as Second Vice-Chair, Tanya Shively from Benton County as Secretary, and Lorna Hayden from Douglas County as Treasurer.

"Karen, Wayne, Tanya, and Lorna are a solid team of campaign veterans. I'll be counting on their experience as we head into this election cycle," said Dixon.

Karen Packer was previously Second Vice-Chair of the Party, and was twice elected Chair of the Democratic Party of Washington County before that. Wayne Kinney was previously Democratic National Committee Member, and Tanya Shively was elected to her second term as Secretary of the Party. Lorna Hayden also serves as Vice-Chair of the Douglas County Democratic Party.